Stamford Hospital Trauma Services

A designated level II trauma center

One out of every three people will be either directly or indirectly affected by trauma. A trauma is any life-threatening occurrence, either accidental or intentional, that causes injuries. The leading causes of trauma are motor vehicle crashes, falls and assaults. Trauma is the leading cause of death among Americans under 44 years of age.

The good news? Research has found that patients who are treated at a trauma center have a 25 percent better chance of survival. Our trauma team is committed to providing our community with the highest possible quality emergency care. Our Emergency Department is staffed by physicians 24/7 and serves as the base hospital for the area’s Emergency Medical System. Our interdisciplinary Department of Surgery, Trauma Services division consists of:

  • A trauma medical director with certification in surgery and critical care
  • Three additional trauma and critical care surgeons
  • A trauma program manager and registrar
  • A trauma performance improvement coordinator
  • An administrative coordinator and a research assistant

Our team constantly works to find performance-improvement issues and create new prevention strategies, develop and update policies and procedures, perform research, and educate the staff and community about trauma.

What is a Level II Trauma Center?

A trauma center is a hospital that is designated by a state or local authority after it is verified by the American College of Surgeons based on a very high set of standards. There are four levels.

  • A Level I Trauma Center – should be a regional resource center and generally serves large cities or population-dense areas. A Level I must admit 1,200 trauma patients yearly, be a leader in injury prevention/outreach activities and conduct trauma research. There are currently two Level I Trauma Centers in Connecticut.
  • A Level II Trauma Center – provides comprehensive trauma care as a Level I but there is no minimum admission requirement. A Level II Trauma Center also provides both acute critical care and care throughout the continuum of the patients' illness and injury. Level II centers must provide injury prevention/outreach activities but there is no minimum requirement. There are currently nine Level II Trauma Centers in Connecticut, of which Stamford Hospital is one.
  • A Level III Trauma Center – has the capability to initially manage the majority of injured patients and have transfer agreements with a Level I or II Trauma Center for patients whose needs exceed the facility’s resources. There is currently one Level III Trauma Center in Connecticut.
  • A Level IV Trauma Center – is usually located in a rural area and usually supplements care within a larger trauma system. A Level IV must have 24-hour emergency coverage by a physician. A Level IV can initially treat any trauma patient, but may need to transfer to a Level I/II for patients whose needs exceed the facility’s resources. There are no Level IVs in Connecticut.
There are many requirements to be a trauma center among the various levels and trauma centers are verified and designated every three years.

Our Commitment to You

Our Emergency Department sees about 1,100 patients requiring trauma services yearly, but we admit approximately 850 patients a year. Stamford Hospital also performs injury prevention and outreach activities, as well as trauma research.

We have the technology and expertise to diagnose, monitor and surgically stabilize critically ill patients. We promise to provide the best and safest care to all of our patients. That’s why we make education is a top priority throughout the year. All of our nurses, surgeons and emergency medicine personnel meet the requirements for a trauma center.