Gynecologic Cancer Screening

Personalized care. Clinical excellence.

You might already know that there are five main types of cancer that can affect a woman’s reproductive organs: cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar. Together, they are known as gynecologic cancer.

Truth be told, there’s no simple way to test for this type of cancer if you don’t show any signs or symptoms. That’s why it’s important to:

  • Have regular Pap tests that can detect cervical cancer early on, as well as cervical cell changes that could become cancer if not treated.
  • Know about the cancers in general.
  • Recognize warning signs.
  • Talk with your primary care physician to learn what you can do to reduce your risk.

Diagnostic and Screening Services

Our diagnostic services for gynecologic cancer include:

The Early Ovarian Cancer Detection Program

This program provides leading-edge approaches to the care of women who are at higher risk of ovarian cancer in order to improve early detection. Led by Elena Ratner, MD, Director of the Division of Gynecologic Oncology at Stamford Hospital, the primary goal of the program is to provide women with appropriate screening in the early detection of ovarian cancer and, for women considered high-risk, offer them a prophylactic option. The other goal of the program is to explore new tumor markers and the most effective methodologies for detecting ovarian cancer in its early stages, when it is most treatable. The program is part of Discovery to Cure, a broad initiative to combat reproductive cancers.

Read important information on Non-discrimination and Interpreter Services and visit Patients Rights.